Black & White TriX or what

jtcedinburgh

Hi everyone.

I love the results I get with my G2. I really rate it, though I've never really been completely happy with the results I've had with T-Max or Ilford Delta films.

I'm looking for a film which will compliment the razor sharp lenses of the G2, to really 'pop'. I imagine I'll develop the film myself with Rodinal, or give it to my wife who has access to a Kodak film processor*. I want to print to around 16x12" on RC to begin with, printing on fibre on occasions.

I've never tried Tri-X before - can anyone advise whether it'll give me the accutance I require, without being rendered too difficult to print by the high contrast of the Zeiss lenses?

I'm also keen on a sharp, defined grain rather than the slightly soft grain of T-Max - will Tri-X deliver with Rodinal?

Lastly, what B&W films are people settling on - conventional B&W only, rather than the chromogenic ones.

Thanks,

John

T

trisnadi

I stick with Ilford Delta at the moment, since Ilford chemicals and papers are easier to find here in Indonesia. I heard rumours that Kodak chemicals and papers will get here in coming months, but until that Ilford seems the only choice.

Trisnadi

nicolas2

John,
Personnally I love the Tri X which the new name is 400TX. I used it during years with my Ms and I was wandering what will be the results with my new G2. My firt contact is great. What I love with this film that black is black, deep black very contrasted. (I don't like the Tmax too smooth for me).
Go to the TriX, it's a lovely film,

Nicolas

wbesz

John,

There must be something wrong with what you are doing. I find Delta 100/400 to be the best film for sharpness! But I use a good optics for with the enlarger, and a good scanner. Amazingly sharp.

Regards, William

jtcedinburgh

William,