CI Photocommunity

Register a free account now!

If you are registered, you get access to the members only section, can participate in the buy & sell second hand forum and last but not least you can reserve your preferred username before someone else takes it.

Canon 20D Severe Issues

E

eisst

I bought a 20D with grip and the new 17-85 IS lens last week. It’s a very sweet camera performance wise. I took lots of test pictures with no problem. The software is excellent. However…. I’m a professional photographer and last night, 1/3 way through shooting a wedding, my brand new 20D locked up with error 99. I switched back to my 10d because it was a critical moment, when aren't there? When I had a moment, I went back to the 20D and it worked fine again …until it did it again an hour later. This happened about four times in one night. It also locked up with no error. It just wouldn’t let me take a picture but the display worked fine. I felt like throwing the damn thing out the window. I depend on camera reliability for a living and I need dependability. I tried reseating the lens, CF, Grip, and flash with no joy. I also tried turning the damn thing off and it refused to die. I went to the Canon site and I see a 1.0.4 upgrade but when I click on it it says it doesn’t exist. I need this fixed NOW!!! Does anyone know of a workaround in the meantime?

uj78

This is just a wild guess but why don't you try Canon if you just bought it= =20 it is surely under warrenty. Why would you think anyone else would have=20 experiance fixing a camera that has been on the market a couple of months?=20= Email=20 Canon Talk to your dealer that is the only way you will get this =20

E

eisst