Canons that donbt fog infrared

Discussion in 'Q&A for better images' started by bronwyn, Apr 24, 2004.

  1. bronwyn

    bronwyn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know of canon camera that doesn't fog when shooting black and white infrared. I have an eos elan, eos 3 and an A2...the A2 is the best but still fogs. I would like to be able to stay with canon and use all my lenses....any suggestions?
     
  2. jsmisc

    jsmisc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    931
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Bronwyn,
    I have never tried infra red but I have read that it is tricky. I wonder if the A2 is the best because it is a metal body but if there is no window in the back, I wouldn't have thought that it should fog provided that the seals are OK. Is it alright with ordinary film?
    Cheers,
    John
     
  3. bronwyn

    bronwyn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    My understaning of the problem with fogging has more to do with the dx coding and the laser that is built into canons for reading that on the film. I have put black gaffers tape over the back window on my cameras but I have also tried it without doing this and it doesn't seem to matter....I want to be able to use my AF lenses...
    I am ok with going totally manual, because when I shoot infrared that's what I do anyway but I want to use my lenses....

    Yes, all of the cameras are alright with regular film just that tricky infrared causes problems....

    Thanks for responding, John.

    (oh and if I can get this figured out, I would also like to try shooting underwater with infrared....not too ambitious, I hope)

    Bronwyn
     
  4. grh

    grh Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lasers are not used to read DX. Look inside your camera and you will see a row of pins that contact the film cassette. On the side of the cassette the DX code is black and silver squares - silver conducts between the pins, black insulates, and that's how your camera reads DX. The problem with Canons and IR is the diode used to measure the film advance.
     
  5. bronwyn

    bronwyn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok Guy,

    I probably can't circumvent the diode since that is how the film advances, so it is sounding like I will need to go to a camera that I will have to manually advance....

    I wonder if any of my AF lenses will work or if this means a new "old" camera and a few lenses too....
     
  6. mike_nunan

    mike_nunan Guest

    Hi Bronwyn,

    The EOS-1v is definitely ok with IR film -- one of the many small advantages it holds over the EOS-3. If you want to avoid the expense of a 1v, it might be worth investigating whether the older 1-series cameras have the same feature. I'm sure a quick email or phone call to Canon would clear the matter up.

    HTH

    -= mike =-
     
  7. bronwyn

    bronwyn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Mike!

    This information is exactly what I'm looking for (a good place to start and some hope!)....I was also told to check out this web site You must be logged in to see this link.
    which I found very helpful with some other canon recommendations that were a little expensive than the eos1-v....so I guess what I will try to do is rent? a few of these to try out before I buy.

    does anyone know a good source for used equipment?

    Thanks!

    Bronwyn
     
  8. mike_nunan

    mike_nunan Guest

    Hi Bronwyn,

    That Photonotes site is great isn't it? I hadn't looked at the IR stuff on there until yesterday, but I saw the reply to your other posting and went and checked it out. I've been there before for information on the Canon flash system though.

    Re used equipment, where are you based??

    -= mike =-
     
  9. bronwyn

    bronwyn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Mike,

    I'm in Colorado near Denver.

    Bronwyn
     
  10. mike_nunan

    mike_nunan Guest

    I'm in London, UK, so my advice may not be as relevant as some other peoples' around here since I don't often get used equipment from dealers in the US. I have done business with KEH (You must be logged in to see this link.) a couple of times and have been very satisfied.

    -= mike =-
     
  11. indytone

    indytone Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey,

    I have a Canon G3 and use a Hoya Infrared filter all the time. I've never had it "fog" on any shot. I do a lot of outdoor infrared shots and the only issue I've had is that I have to wait until weather conditions are perfect to get a great shot. Obviously I can't control that though. [​IMG]
     
  12. grh

    grh Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    What film are you using in that Powershot G3?
     
  13. changobailado

    changobailado Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
  14. indytone

    indytone Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, didn't see anywhere that the original post distinguished between digital or film Canons.

    [​IMG]
     
  15. changobailado

    changobailado Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anthony, I'd be interested to see what your infrared images with your G3 look like. Have any s&les online???

    Al
     
  16. indytone

    indytone Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Al,

    Here's one that I took a few weeks ago. I need to resize the others and upload them.

    [​IMG]

    It was a very sunny, hot, and non windy day when I took it. Perfect conditions.
     
  17. changobailado

    changobailado Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, that looks great. I never realized that the G3 would produce such nice infrareds with just a filter. I had read that there are certain digital cameras that are sensitive to infrared light with the proper combination of filters. Is this the case with the G3 or is the Hoya infrared filter all you needed? I've seen some infrared shots taken at outdoor wedding ceremonies and they look fabulous. I'd like to try that with my 10D if possible.

    Thanks,

    Al
     
  18. indytone

    indytone Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    All I use is the Hoya. The only other thing I do is change the image size (when needed) in Photoshop.

    Tips (that you will likely find anywhere else):
    1. Use a tripod w/ remote to keep the camera as still as possible
    2. Take advantage of proper weather conditions (Sunny, not windy)
     
  19. mloufrost

    mloufrost Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    This may be duplication of an earlier discussion, but will the digital Rebel (300D) be able to
    produce infrared images with the Hoya filter?
    Mary Lou
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice