DPR Forum

Welcome to the Friendly Aisles!
DPRF is a photography forum with people from all over the world freely sharing their knowledge and love of photography. Everybody is welcome, from beginners to the experienced professional. Whether it is Medium Format, fullframe, APS-C, MFT or smaller formats. Digital or film. DPRF is a forum for everybody and for every format.
Enjoy this modern, easy to use software. Look also at our Reviews & Gallery!

Phoenix 500mm mirror lenses

jesito

Hi colleagues,

I've been looking at the Phoenix mirror lenses (500mm) and I'd like to know your opinion.
I've been told that they are not very good in quality terms, but maybe with the Foveon quality can compensate somewhat the limitations of those lenses.
Anyone has some experience with them?

Thanks in advance.
Jes.

Hi, Jesito!

I have no experience with those lenses, but my logic tells me that if their quality is only so - so, then Foveon will certainly amplify those imperfections.

Sincere regards, JR

Hi colleagues,

I've been looking at the Phoenix mirror lenses (500mm) and I'd like to know your opinion.
I've been told that they are not very good in quality terms, but maybe with the Foveon quality can compensate somewhat the limitations of those lenses.
Anyone has some experience with them?

It doesn't matter what camera it is, no camera can fix a lousy lens. And don't forget the donut shaped rings from out of focus highlights. But it is a cheap way to get 500mm, just don't expect a whole lot.

Thanks a lot to both of you!
So, discarded. Better to invest in a decent lens.
Maybe my Tamron 70-250 with the Tamron 2X doubler would give more performance. To mount it I can use the M42-Sigma adapter and the M42-Tamron on top.

I'll try it, let's see what I can get from that puzzle...

Kind regards,

Jes.

Hi All,

I have a SOLIGOR 500mm/8.0 and a Hanimex 300mm /6.3 Mirror-lens.

Well,