Flat bed Scanner for Negatives

coyot

I already have a film scanner ... but have hundreds of old rolls I want to scan and am considering a flat film bed scanner to scan a roll of 35mm at a time. The dedicated film scanner does a great job, but it is just to slow both in scanning and in workflow. Ideally, the flat bed scanner would also do a good job on medium format.

I need to be able to generate a minimum 2 megabyte file from each 35mm frame. Is this realistic? Anybody have any recommendations?
The scanner should also have good software to expedite the ability to quickly save each indidividual frame. And did I mention that alot of these are 30 year old black and whites (Plus X and Tri - X).

Thanks,

Michael.

wyatt

I'm an active photographer, but I too have a vast personal archive that I'd like to digitize. I'm interested in hearing experience and ideas for "massive scanning" projects, thanks, Wyatt

C

craignorris

The Sony UY-S100 can scan a 35mm frame at 6 Megapixel in 11 seconds. See:

Please, Log in or Register to view URLs content!

It has a SCSI interface. I don't know the price.

Best Regards,

Craig

coyot

The price for a Sony UY-S100 is over $6,000 at B&H. I was thinking more of a low end 300 to 500 dollar unit! Also, the Sony seems to do it in strips, just like a film scanner. I was thinking more in terms of some type of strip loader where you would load all 6 or 7 strips of five to seven negatives and scan the entire roll at once.

Thanks,

Michael.

jsmisc

Michael,
I have a Canon D24OOU flat bed scanner which is an excellent scanner generally and received good reviews when it came out and it was a reasonable price. It will have been updated to a new model by now.
But although it will scan 35mm, the scans are not really very good. It is fine with medium format. My understanding is that all flatbeds which will scan film are like that. I didn't know about the Sony mentioned by Craig.