DPR Forum

Welcome to the Friendly Aisles!
DPRF is a photography forum with people from all over the world freely sharing their knowledge and love of photography. Everybody is welcome, from beginners to the experienced professional. Whether it is Medium Format, fullframe, APS-C, MFT or smaller formats. Digital or film. DPRF is a forum for everybody and for every format.
Enjoy this modern, easy to use software. Look also at our Reviews & Gallery!

G1 or G2 that is the question

Hello Contax Users,
I am getting a G body in the next few weeks.
But considering that I have a limited budget , I wonder which one I should get.
I already own a Contax T2, a Ricoh GR1V and a Yashica T4.
Knowing that I'm not a professional photographer, do you think that I should get a G1 right away or wait a little longer in order to buy a G2.
And if I go with the G1, which lens do you suggest I should get?
Best,
Bertil

> Recommend waiting and getting a G2 with either the 35 or 45 mm lens. I had a G1 and I'm very fussy. Focus is the issue. Sold it to buy the G2.

Bertil,

Je possède les deux boitiers. Je suis tès satisfait du G1 mais le G2 est beaucoup plus rapide. Ceci dit le G1 est aujourd'hui très bon marché. Il fonctionne très bien, même avec le 90 mm...

Je possède le 21, le 35 et le 90 mm. Personnellement je n'ai jamais apprécié la focale 45 ou 50. Question de goût mais ausi de possibilités. Je ne sais pas, mais lorsqu'une photo est réussie avec le 35, elle est réellement "géniale". Si je n'avais qu'un seul objectif à acheter ce serait le 35 qui est au demeurant excellent.

Bonnes photos,

Nicolas