CI Photocommunity

Register a free account now!

If you are registered, you get access to the members only section, can participate in the buy & sell second hand forum and last but not least you can reserve your preferred username before someone else takes it.

Medium Format SlideFilm Scanner

carlzeiss

I've been shooting MF for a few years now and am researching into a means to scan the 120/220 negatives into digital format. Does anyone have suggestions based on their actual experiences with various MF scanners, e.g. the Polaroid Sprintscan 120 or EPSON Perfection 3170 or 3200? Any input about these or other MF scanners would be much appreciated!

tessar_man

Hi,
A lot of people seem to recommend the Epson 3200 Pro, which includes LaserSoft Silverfast Ai6, a package everyone seems to recommend for optimum results (see for ex&le David Brooks in Shutterbug Sept. 2003), but then you are at $599. I would like to go with a less expensive MF scanner that also still gives decent scans of 35mm slides/negs so I extend Carlzeiss's question to other lower cost models. -Jan

geoffrey

I've been using a Linotype Saphir Ultra 2 for several years, with very god success. Scanning at 1200 dpi, wiht a bit of Genuine Fractals, it works for good BW prints up to about 11" square.

I too was interested in newer technology, and got the Minolta dimage Multi II (Scsi) for about $500 a year ago. Its better than the Linotype, but not by very much.

I haven't used the Epson, but did checkout the Imacon 343 (not cheap at all - about $5k), and it really is superior. It scans without glass (less cleaning needed) and can give you 3800 dpi, or about 27" square print without Genuine Fractals or serious re-ressing (just changing to 240-300 dpi to print). So too, the scanning quality was significantly higher - not night and day, but noteworthy. If you want, I could email or post s&les of the differences.