DPR Forum

Welcome to the Friendly Aisles!
DPRF is a photography forum with people from all over the world freely sharing their knowledge and love of photography. Everybody is welcome, from beginners to the experienced professional. Whether it is Medium Format, fullframe, APS-C, MFT or smaller formats. Digital or film. DPRF is a forum for everybody and for every format.
Enjoy this modern, easy to use software. Look also at our Reviews & Gallery!

80-400 vr

jimred

I am new to SLR and i was wondering if the AF 80-400 VR would be a good lens for bird photography with my D90, Is it similar to 70-300

Many Thanks

jim

Hi,

I don't have the mentioned lense, but it's said to be rather slow, which I wouldn't recommend for birds. Depending on the size of animals and the distance 400mm can be pretty short. I tried to take full frame pictures from little bird in the garden with my 80-400 Tokina. I was only about 3.5m away from them!

A good recommendation would probably be a fast 400 or 500mm Lens (2.8 or 4) but that is horendously expensive.

Maybe someone else can give you good advice on that.

Cheers
Mike

While bird photography does generally require long lenses, it also requires skill and planning. I got some excellent tight shots with my 70-300mm VR, of young fledgling birds on my balcony rail over the past couple of days, shooting out my window. Professional nature shooters set up blinds - like tents to hide in - where birds are likely to be found. They may also bait the area with bird-seed to entice the birds to the spot. This takes time and planning. The blind may have to be in place for weeks for the wildlife to come to accept it and ignore it. Even with the longest and most expensive lens in Nikon's arsenal, getting close is the most important factor.