CI Photocommunity

Register a free account now!

If you are registered, you get access to the members only section, can participate in the buy & sell second hand forum and last but not least you can reserve your preferred username before someone else takes it.

Newbiebs perhaps silly question

emotepix

Hello all
Have a basic question for you Y/C mount ch&s.. Basically, will a CZ lens made for the Rollei SL35 mount work on a Contax Y/C body mount? I'm talking about having it fit and working manually, I'm not doing any AE or MM work at all, mainly preset macro stuff.
Secondly, would a CZ lens made for the Rollei mount be made in the German factory or the Japanese one, and if the latter, what might the construction/performance differences be?
As I said, I'm new to all of this so these questions, either whole or part, may seem a little silly to those in the know. (Course I've been shooting for awhile, but on other systems).
Thanks!
Cheers
Chris

nickser

Hi There Chris,
The short answer is no:-(
The lens mounts are different. That is a pity as the Rollei lenses are cheaper. Maybe there is a way to change the mount to a C/Y one, but I would think that all the internal linkages would be different as well. Plus the cost would be quite a lot.
If any one took your fancy then it would be worthwhile getting a Rollei body. There are qite a few on ebay to choose from.

Regards

Paul

tbc