DPR Forum

Welcome to the Friendly Aisles!
DPRF is a photography forum with people from all over the world freely sharing their knowledge and love of photography. Everybody is welcome, from beginners to the experienced professional. Whether it is Medium Format, fullframe, APS-C, MFT or smaller formats. Digital or film. DPRF is a forum for everybody and for every format.
Enjoy this modern, easy to use software. Look also at our Reviews & Gallery!

My Aria has problems

dcphotos

Hi all, glad to find the forum. My first 35mm camera was a Yashica FXd, I moved up to Contax lenses and eventually an Aria body.
I'm a photographer by trade, I shoot Nikon digital with my work. I have always shot a roll of film every now and then and want to start shooting more.

So I got the Aria out. On auto rewind it pulls the film after 5-6 shots. I turned that off and shot a test roll, had it processed by the good folks at Indie Film Lab(great process and scan service). No frames overlap but the advance isn't even and it seems that the stuff is all focused a few inches behind the point I focused. Not sure if the latter problem is a mirror/glass/mount issue or my eyes have gotten old.

Kyocera wants $175 to do a repair. Might go that route, but thinking about another body. I always wanted a RTS3 back in the day, still seems like more than I have to spend on this though.

I don't know enough about the ST, RX, 167mt and others. I have a tla 360 flash and would like for it to continue to function in ttl.

I also really like the design and idea of the AX, but I worry that it would malfunction sooner or later.

Any advice? Resources for used gear outside KEH and eBay?

All of the Japanese Contax cameras will start to malfunction at some stage, so like any digital camera, you'll have to accept that they'll stop working and won't be worth anything, or that the costs of fixing them will far exceed their value.