Picked up a RTS Contax II Quartz camera at garage sale. What do I have?

Ken_Castiron

RTS II Contaz Quartz 35 mm Camera.jpg The picture was taken immediately after purchase; since I've had the camera the smudge on the zoom lens was cleaned off nicely, and overall the camera is in pretty good shape, besides the strap, which is a bit beat up.

I'm new to the world of any camera other than digital. I'm excited to own this for my own personal use, and plan to grab a book for it off of ebay. I would also like to find out more about it. What do I have here, how much is it worth, what type of quality?..

Thank you all,

Ken Brylski

nickdando

You have a really excellent camera that should still have plenty of life left in it. It will give you access to the famed Zeiss T* lenses that range from fish-eye to super telephoto, though some prices are eye-watering for the more exotic optics. If on a budget, then the Yashica lens range also uses the C/Y bayonet (Contax/Yashica), and there are lenses from third-party suppliers; some cheap and nasty, some expensive and desirable.
You can attach a range of different flash units, change the focusing screens, add a motor-drive, or replace the back with a data back.
It's a system camera, and you can tailor it to your needs to quite an extent.
As for value, well it's worth as much as someone is prepared to pay for it! There will be enough on the market to make it almost disposable if it starts playing up - twenty- to thirty-year-old electronics.

Nick

Ken_Castiron

Nick, thank you for your reply, I had no idea it was such a dynamic camera.

I've decided to keep it for myself, and have a website on mir dot com that has proven to be useful as a source of user's guide for learning about the camera.