pictures at night of streets

G

Hey everyone! I am fairly new at this and I have a Maxxum 9xi with a bunch of the expansion cards, external flash, and a Zoom xi AF28-80 lens. I got this as a gift and I have a few questions about the best way to take a few pictures. First: I really like to take pictures at night of streets and walkways and such...i also like to get pictures of lightning. Could someone give me som advice on what I can do to get the best quality pic? Such as film speed and other camera settings I could tweek? Another situation I was in is a vacation in the Bahamas and a chance to go in a undersea tunnel where the light was low but each 'tank' was lit up nicely. Even with my flash pointing away from the tank (to avoid reflection) my pictures turned out blurry. What I would like is to just have the tank lit up in the picture and the rest of it as dark as possible. Kinda like taking a picture of a television in a dark room, where the tv is all that shows up. Anyt advice here? Thanks again

G

James, I think that your post ideally should be in the Maxxum 9xi section rather than the Maxxum 9 section (different camera) but I'll go ahead and tackle your questions while Dirk looks after the housekeeping . . .
A good place to find exposure guidelines for subjects like streets at night and lightning is the film data sheet. In "the old days" these were furnished with every roll of film, but now all we get is a terse, abreviated version printed on the inside of the box! So, I recommend that you browse to the film manufacturer's website (e.g.,
Please, Log in or Register to view URLs content!