Polarizer filter for g2

H

htree1

I am new to the G2 family, this forum and would like to know how to use a polarizer filter with my G-2. I shoot lots of scenics with skys. I am new to Rangefinders. Any advice, tips or help on how to use this camera would be welcome and appreciated. I have crossed over from Nikon.
Thanks
Howard

reodds

Welcome to the family Howard! The best way to use a polarizer on the G2 is to notice that most filters have a small white dot on the rotating part of the filter. As long as the sun is overhead, just point the dot to sun to get the maximum glare reduction. Another way is to get a second filter, look through it to get the desired effect, and copy the "dot" setting on the cameras' filter.
Roger

P

picturetaker

There is a very pricey polfilter from Leica desinged for the M wich also is suitable for the Contax G2.
You can see through the finder adjust the filter setting and fold it over the Lense and shot.
You also could make very easy something by your self, you also could use a non circular Polfilter.

erichard44

Actually, an easy and quick way to use the polarizer is to the watch the exposure, and shoot when the exposure is increased, as this will indicate when the least input from the sky occurs.

One can use this to maximize the effect, or not.

I frankly find trying to put the polarizer on the camera after looking through it terribly cumbersome, and the Leica approach wildly expensive. In the end it amounts to not using the polarizer.

smartrav

I have tried looking trough the viewfinder at the exposure meter to find the right position for a polarizer but that doesn't work. One would think so but it dosen't for me on my G2. Best I have been able to do is look through the filter; determine maximum angle; and try to duplicate that angle on the camera after the filter is screwed tightly on the lens.

smartrav