DPR Forum

Welcome to the Friendly Aisles!
DPRF is a photography forum with people from all over the world freely sharing their knowledge and love of photography. Everybody is welcome, from beginners to the experienced professional. Whether it is Medium Format, fullframe, APS-C, MFT or smaller formats. Digital or film. DPRF is a forum for everybody and for every format.
Enjoy this modern, easy to use software. Look also at our Reviews & Gallery!

【CK's Theory Related Post】PART II: If the upper portion of the lens is covered, is the formed image the lower portion of the scene?

CK Shene

BECAUSE I CAN ONLY POST MESSAGES WITHOUT LINKS AS A BEGINNER, I HAVE TO EMBED IMAGES HERE. IF YOU LIKE THIS POST, PLEASE SEARCH PART I ON THIS FORUM.

-------------------------
The photo below was taken at a focal length of 200mm . The real dark shadows have receded out of the frame, leaving only a trace of "something wrong" (shutter problem?):

AFS-70300-at-200.jpg

Finally, the photo below was taken at a focal length of 300mm . Not only the dark shadows, but also the darker areas are gone!

AFS-70300-at-300.jpg

What "truth" do these photos show? Why do black shadows shrink slowly as the focal length increases? Is there a problem with the experiment or the theory? The answer is that the theory is correct, and we need to understand what the shadow is and where it comes from (that is, the control parameters during the experiment), which requires further knowledge.

Basic concept of Compond Lens

The photographic lens uses more than one lens. Traditional Gauss optics can condense the optical system composed of multiple lenses into a virtual lens, and satisfy the formula of single lens. Although Gauss optics only give correct results close to the optical axis, this is good enough.