DPR Forum

Welcome to the Friendly Aisles!
DPRF is a photography forum with people from all over the world freely sharing their knowledge and love of photography. Everybody is welcome, from beginners to the experienced professional. Whether it is Medium Format, fullframe, APS-C, MFT or smaller formats. Digital or film. DPRF is a forum for everybody and for every format.
Enjoy this modern, easy to use software. Look also at our Reviews & Gallery!

Pentax Super Tak and SPP Processing

laurence2

Hello, I used the old Pentax Super Takumar 55/1.8 on the new SD-14, and it worked out just fine. I've always loved the clarity of the Super Tak and also the warmth of the color rendition.

Here are some images, from the nearby sea shore. I am STILL hoping to get to the rain forest for the "real" tests for me!

Also, I've included the original image straight out of the camera, and the image from using SPP software.

I am new to this; however the SPP software is a surprisingly powerful program! Original camera setting included shooting "to the right" on Histogram, with a +0.7 exposure compensation.

Of course, these are the result of my amateurish abilities with SPP. As I learn more, I hope to make the final output better. That said, I certainly love the way the software brings back the images to what I actually saw in person!

Image 1: Straight out of camera
Image 2: After SPP processing -
Exp -.9
Contrast +.9
Shadows -1.1
Saturation +.2
Fill +0.5
I love the way the gradient was pulled out in SPP

Image 3: Straight out of camera
Image 4: After SPP processing
Exp -.2
Contrast +.7
Shadows -.8
Fill +0.6
SPP brought forward the warm late afternoon sun tones.

Attachments

• Foam RAW X3F Out of Camera.jpg
    EXIF
    Foam RAW X3F Out of Camera.jpg
    165 KB · Views: 7
  • Foam RAW Custom.jpg
    EXIF
    Foam RAW Custom.jpg
    183.2 KB · Views: 11
  • Linearity Highlights.jpg
    EXIF
    Linearity Highlights.jpg
    174.6 KB · Views: 8
  • Linearity Custom.jpg
    EXIF